The state of Virginia requires you to file a police report within 24 hours of your collision. If medical injuries prevent you from making that report, you are expected to report it as soon as possible. In general, it’s best to report a collision right after it happens, as the longer you wait to file the report, the higher the chance of it affecting your insurance compensation/injury claim as well as ability to win a lawsuit.
Reporting a collision involves telling both the insurance provider and local police. If grave injuries are present or if the damage to your vehicle is extensive, you may also want to call a car accident lawyer in Roanoke VA.
The state of Virginia also requires that you report a collision to police if any of the following apply:
- Someone has been injured or killed
- A vehicle has been damaged
When it comes to reporting to the insurance company, the specific timelines vary. That being said, most providers want you to report it as soon as possible, with many of them offering 24-hour hotlines for your convenience.
Important Steps to Follow
The time period following a car collision is hectic, complicated, harrowing and emotional. It may be tough to remember the right steps to take. However, taking those steps – quickly and efficiently – will affect your ability to seek compensation. Here’s what you should do after a collision:
- Make safety a priority: Make sure you, your passengers, and anyone else involved are safe.
- Call 911: The responding officer will file a report and summon medical help.
- Obtain medical help: Focus on your health first. If you don’t get medical assistance at the scene, visit your doctor for a follow-up.
- Care for your car: If you can no longer drive your vehicle, make arrangements to have it towed to an auto shop. Get a full inspection. If you try to seek compensation for damages later, without an inspection report, it will be difficult, if not downright impossible, to have any success.
Statute of Limitations
These are state-set limits on how long you have to file a lawsuit claim. In most auto collision cases, your car accident attorney in Roanoke VA will seek settlement from the insurance providers only. But sometimes, it becomes necessary to take things further and file a lawsuit. The statutes of limitation in Virginia following a collision are:
- In order to seek compensation for injuries caused by the collision, you have two years from the accident date to file a lawsuit.
- In order to cover damages to your car, you have five years from the date of the collision to file a lawsuit.
- To gain compensation from a car collision that led to the wrongful death of a family member, you have to file a lawsuit within two years of the date of death.
How Car Accident Lawyers in Roanoke Can Help You
There are many ways in which a Roanoke car accident law firm can assist you in filing a claim after a collision.
Qualified attorneys can evaluate the details of your case via a consultation that is free to you and that carries no obligation.
This is a vital part of any auto collision case. If you are the one who is at fault for the collision, the law could limit your claim. Skilled attorneys can help you prove liability by collecting all necessary documents, calling forth witnesses, and gathering evidence as part of your personal injury case.
Negotiate With Insurance Providers
Sometimes insurance claims can be simple and straightforward, while other times they are long, complex and drawn out, with the offered settlement amount being not nearly enough to cover the costs incurred because of the collision. Sometimes, the insurance company will refuse to pay any compensation at all. PI lawyers can fight back and do all they can to get you the deserved compensation.
Contact Altizer Law
Altizer Law is your trusted Roanoke car accident law firm. Don’t hesitate to call us if you have been in a collision, have suffered injury, or the insurance company is refusing to pay what you deserve. It costs you nothing to talk with us. Call now for a free, no-obligation consultation at 540-345-2000.